Indigenous Council


The Indigenous Council at York University is committed to addressing the educational needs and provision of services that meet the cultural needs of Aboriginal students at York University through the processes of recruitment, retention and ultimately graduation.

The Council is committed to supporting and building reciprocal relationships between Aboriginal communities and York University in the area of Aboriginal education. Its purpose is to advocate for Aboriginal Peoples to have greater access, input and opportunities for higher education to the fullest extent possible at York University now and for future generations.

Our Members are:

Darlene King  -  Co-chair Native Women's Resource Centre
Ruth Koleszar- Green -  Co-chair York University/Faculty
Noel Bandiou York University/Centre for Human Rights
Elizabeth Brule York University/Faculty
Signa Daum Shanks York University/Faculty
Susan Dion York University/Faculty
Michael Greyeyes York University/Faculty
Celia Haig-Brown York University/Faculty
Nancy Johnson York University/CASS
Ally Stoett York University/CASS
Lisa Maracle York University/CASS
Stefan Piercey President/Aboriginal Student Association at York
Amy Hull Vice President/Aboriginal Student Association at York
Alis Kennedy  Métis Nation of Ontario
Bonita Lawrence  York University/Faculty
Nicole Penak
York University/ Faculty
David McNab York University/Faculty
Peggy Pitawanakwat Seneca College
 Randy Pitawanakwat York University/CASS
Alice Pitt York University/Vice-Provost Academic 
Donna Seary New Credit First Nation
Josephine Tcheng York University/Centre for Human Rights
 Yann Allard- Tremblay  York University- Glendon/ Faculty

Terms-of-Reference-IC-APPROVED JAN 2017

For more information about the Council, please contact Randy Pitawanakwat at 416-736-5571.